{7.3.15} falling in love

When you’re walking around in the city during the almost nighttime do you ever fall in love with the people passing you by? I do, sometimes. As our lives intersect for 3 interminable seconds on the bustling sidewalk, I gaze at them, and wonder at the infinity of their being. Who could they have known? What unimaginable things might they have lived? What overwhelming sadnesses might they have endured? And then they are gone, perhaps staring back at me quizzically as they make their way towards whatever their future life holds. I am left only with a taste in my mouth like after awakening from an afternoon nap, sweet and nostalgic.

Update:

A friend commented a link to this article from The Atlantic about what love actually is, biologically, when I put this post on Facebook that I found very enlightening. And also encouraging. And validating. Take a look. You won’t regret it.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Soren Hauge says:

    I hadn’t thought of it as falling in love, but maybe the way I sometimes can anticipate their movements and gestures has something in common with that, as the article says. Less anticipation than, say, of the next time Bjorn quotes This is Spinal Tap (“there’s such a fine line between stupid and clever”), but some.

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

